letspeakchic

Just another WordPress.com site

From Blondes Ville to Blithedale Part 2. Shoes Rule?


Ask any women, and I guarantee you most will say they will spend the most money of their budget on their shoe wardrobe. Shoes are sexy, and well they fit everyone. Size in shoes does not matter, but what does matter is the sex appeal. Usually that appeal has a price tag associated with it and a prestige. There is no way of fooling a woman’s eye- either you are wearing the latest Loubitan or you are not. It is not the same in clothing- where you can mix high and low. Even men notice this. It is some sort of innate sense that a person recognizes quality in the shoes they are wearing; this applies to both men and women.
Shoes are investment and can spark the most interesting conversations and lead to well a successful evening. Should shoe boxes be labeled with some sort of Warning- “Warning- wearing these might lead to the bedroom encounter…” or “Warning- these shoes are not permissible in certain geographic locations?”
I was always under the impression, that women, no matter where they lived, loved a good shoe. One night out recently in Fairfield, CA. I realized I was wrong. It was a flashback to I’m not sure what time. I was trying to enjoy my date, when the woman standing next to my date made a comment to him about my shoes” We don’t wear Jimmy Choo here.” It was a clear statement. Political I’m not sure, but this woman had a point of view and took a stand. It took us both by surprise. Well, first of all I was wearing a very casual outfit. jeans paired with a nice knit top. I wanted to look good for my date, and I couldn’t wear jeans AND flat shoes- it’s just not in my fashion vocabulary. I laughed and realized this is interesting- an anti-shoe geographic location.
In the Marina- Blondes Ville, where I just moved from, the shoe is a critical part of the fashion style anatomy. If you are not on the Neiman Marcus designer shoe email list, you are no one in the fashion arena. These relationships with the shoe salesman are the most intimate and coveted.
After living in Milan and working and visiting for most of the famous shoe factories, I realized if most people knew how high end designers made shoes- the whole specialneess would disintegrate. One example of this is in a town outside of Venice, is a factory called Rossimoda and there all the LVMH brands are made under one roof. You see slew of Dior, Marc Jacobs, and Donna Karan and Pucci shoes made in large quantities coming off the production line, it does devalue the price tag. For me it definitely took away a bit of the mystique of a high end shoe. Having seen this perhaps it take demystify the idea of a particular shoe designer handling and creating the shoe and maybe the people in this Fairfield nightclub had a point, but as I left my date that evening- I got another date and after all the shoes since they had sparked a debate the shoes had won!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2011 by in blondesville to blithedale.
bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

State of the Art

The Saffronart Blog

sks1232.wordpress.com/

Clothing, shoes, accessories, and beauty products on a budget

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

letspeakchic

Just another WordPress.com site

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

State of the Art

The Saffronart Blog

sks1232.wordpress.com/

Clothing, shoes, accessories, and beauty products on a budget

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

StyleCaster

Style News and Trends

letspeakchic

Just another WordPress.com site

